Bsfllp Description


Print this page

BSF Legal Talk, Winter 2010


The Firm: BSF recently launched an Events Page on the Firm website,, with details of speaking engagements by attorneys, CLE Events and other Firm Events, including a complete listing of involved attorneys and other relevant details. BSF ranked 31 out of 205 in The Minority Law Journal’s Diversity Scorecard for 2009.  The Firm was a key sponsor at the Minority Corporate Counsel Association’s Diversity Dinner in NYC in November and sponsored student William Moon with a $10K grant.  Armonk Office:  David Boies and Robin Henry were recognized as Best Lawyers in America for 2010.  Boies, Henry and William Ohlemeyer were selected as 2009 “top attorneys in the New York Metro Area” by Super Lawyers magazine. Henry contributed the chapter, “Litigating Financial Losses Under State Law: Defenses and Issues to Consider,” to Financial Markets in Recovery: Tax and Regulatory Policy, Planning, Compliance (Civic Research Institute 2009). Boies was part of a distinguished panel on “A Right to Marry? Same-Sex Marriage and the Constitution,” held October 20, 2009 at the National Constitution Center in Philadelphia.  Ft. Lauderdale Office: Carl Goldfarb, Stuart Singer, and Carlos Sires were named 2009 Most Effective Lawyers by the Miami Daily Business Review for their work in the Fresh Del Monte Produce case. Singer was recognized by Best Lawyers in America for 2010. Singer and Sires were selected as 2010 “top attorneys in Florida” by Super Lawyers magazine, Top Lawyers in South Florida Legal Guide and 2009 Legal Elite by Florida Trend Magazine. Gera Peoples and Lauren Fleisher Louis were selected as 2010 Rising Stars in Ft. Lauderdale by Super Lawyers. Sashi B. Boruchow was selected as a 2009 Rising Star by Florida Super Lawyers magazine. Sigrid McCawley was appointed to the Board of Directors of ChildNet, a not-for-profit organization that manages Broward County's child welfare system. McCawley is featured in Gold Coast magazine, South Florida’s leading lifestyle publication, as a leading legal professional in its first-ever '40 Under 40,' published November 2009.  Hollywood Office:  A. Matthew Miller, Charles Fox Miller, and James Fox Miller were named 2010 Best Lawyers in America.  The trio was also selected as 2010 “top attorneys in Florida” by Super Lawyers magazine. Robert Schwartz was selected as a 2009 Star by Florida Super Lawyers.  Las Vegas Office:  Vincent Consul and Richard Pocker were named 2009 “top attorneys in The Mountain States” by Super Lawyers magazine. Pocker was selected for the 2010 Best Lawyers in America and recently commenced his third year as Chair of the Federal Litigation Section of the Federal Bar Association. Pocker served in November as the host and moderator for the Nevada State Bar’s annual Continuing Legal Education program “View From the Bench.” Douglas Mitchell has been appointed to the Board of Governors of the Organization for Legal Professionals, a blue-ribbon panel of thought leaders in the e-discovery arena. Mitchell testified before the U.S. Sentencing Commission in May 2009 regarding sentencing guideline issues and their impact on representation of federal criminal defendants.  Miami Office:  President-elect of the ABA Stephen Zack has been selected as one of the “Top 100 Influentials of 2009” by Hispanic Business Magazine. Zack will co-chair an annual awards dinner hosted by the Florida Immigrant Advocacy Center on February 25.  Zack also spoke at ESADE Law School in Barcelona, Spain on November 30, 2009.  Zack, Steven Davis, Mark Heise, and Michael Kosnitzky were selected as 2009 “top attorneys in Florida” by Super Lawyers magazine. Kosnitzky was inducted into the 2010 Miami Dade College Alumni Hall of Fame in the field of law.  Davis and Heise were named Top Lawyers in the South Florida Legal Guide. The trio were also named 2010 Best Lawyers in America.  New York City Office:  Jonathan Schiller, Don Flexner, Steven Froot, Nicholas Gravante, Michael Kosnitzky, Harlan Levy, Jack Stern, Alan Vickery and Howard Vickery were named “top attorneys” by New York-Metro Super Lawyers. Schiller and Flexner were selected as 2010 Best Lawyers in America. Froot was appointed to a two-year term on Community Board 8 by Bronx Borough President Ruben Diaz, Jr., serving on the Land Use, Economic Development and Health & Hospitals committees. Lee Wolosky spoke on a distinguished panel on “Organized Crime in the Western Hemisphere: An Overlooked Threat?” at the Council on Foreign Relations on November 18; Maurice “Hank” Greenberg was the introductory speaker for the discussion. Marilyn Kunstler addressed the NY City Bar in June with  “Standards for Prosecuting Corporate Fraud by Federal and State Agencies: The Impact of the Revised Justice Department Charging Guidelines,” and co-authored an article titled “Protecting Directors against Liability in Light of the In re Citigroup Inc. Shareholder Derivative Litigation Decision,” published in the April 2009 issue of Bloomberg Risk & Compliance Law Reports.  Robert Leung began his term as President of the American Asian Bar Association in February 2010. Harlan Levy served as a member of the transition team of Manhattan District Attorney Elect Cyrus Vance, co-chairing with Linda Fairstein the Special Victims Committee, focusing on sex crimes, domestic violence, child abuse and hate crimes.  Oakland Office: John Cove, Fred Norton, Kieran Ringgenberg, David Shapiro, and Theodore Uno were named as 2009 “top attorneys in Northern California” by Super Lawyers magazine.  Washington Office: Jonathan Schiller and William Isaacson were selected as 2010 “top attorneys” in D.C. Super Lawyers magazine. Isaacson and David Boyd were recognized as 2010 Best Lawyers in America.