Bsfllp Description


Print this page

Harlan Levy Awarded John J. McCloy Award

February 4, 2016

Boies, Schiller & Flexner partner Harlan Levy has been selected to receive the 2016 John J. McCloy Memorial Award,  which is awarded each year by the Fund for Modern Courts to a  lawyer who has made outstanding contributions to improving the administration of justice in New York state.

“Harlan is a formidable person who has accomplished so much in the public and private sector that has inured to the great benefit of our courts and system of justice, and we are delighted to honor him for his contributions to the fair, effective, and independent administration of justice in New York State,” said Barry Bohrer, the Chair of the Fund for Modern Courts.

Mr. Levy rejoined Boies, Schiller & Flexner in November 2015 after serving for almost five years as Chief Deputy Attorney General of New York, where he helped oversee some of that office’s most important investigations and cases.  He has also served as an Assistant District Attorney in New York County, where he was an early leader in the use of DNA evidence in criminal cases, and he is the author of the “And the Blood Cried Out,” a highly regarded book about the use of DNA in the courtroom.

“During his five years as Chief Deputy Attorney General, and long before that in private practice and at the Manhattan District Attorney’s Office, Harlan Levy has devoted himself to improving our system of justice in New York State.  He is a lawyer’s lawyer who has, throughout his career, brought the full weight of his considerable talent to bear in the mission of ensuring equal justice under law,” Attorney General Eric Schneiderman said.

Mr. Schneiderman will present the McCloy award to Mr. Levy on Monday, May 23, 2016. The award is named in honor of John J. McCloy, who served as Chair of the Fund and Committee for Modern Courts from 1961 to 1978.  Previous recipients of the McCloy Award include Hon. Edward Koch, Gary P. Naftalis, Mary Jo White, and Hon. Cyrus R. Vance.

Related Lawyer: Harlan A. Levy

External Link: Harlan A. Levy – 2016 John McCloy Memorial Award